The Hump

So it’s Wednesday, it’s freezing outside, the wind would cut right through you and I’ve set myself a time limit to see what I can get through in the next 10 minutes or so. Here goes…

Today, was one of those days when you wake up (albeit a wee bit later than normal), get your stuff done and head off to work. Weirdly, the rest of the day disappeared into the black hole that is grading. I spent about the best part of  4 1/2 hours putting all my grades into the computer system and all the jolly intricacies that entails. Well, I got it all done, had to skip lunch (never a good thing for me), had a few students stop by my office to plea their case for a higher grade (with mixed results – I am fair though), then I got home around 4pm.

Once the dog’s been fed and walked (briskly), it was Twitter time. Still sounds a bit rude, eh? I knew that today South Korea would be undertaking a huge civil defense exercise. If you’ve ever seen those public service announcement films from the 50’s where The Commies are going to blow us up, this is something akin to that, but with a better dress sense. On the dot of 2pm the sirens roared into action, and from my office on the 12th floor it was all hands on deck for the next 15  minutes (apparently that’s all it’ll take) as everything stopped.

I’m sure some people pulled over, others smoked outside their office, or like me you just looked out the window wondering if that rumbling noise you could hear was the F16 jets, or my stomach pining for it\’s lunch? You’ll be glad to know that it passed without a hitch, but if you’re ever at ground level when a drill like this takes place, take a step back and watch it all unfold before your eyes. It’s quite a sight.

Tonight we met for dinner, not far from our place, at my new favourite chicken hof,  ‘Born To Be Chicken’. I’d have loved to have been there when they were in the high-level marketing and strategy meetings before they opened. It’s actually a nice, big, friendly place, not far from Sookmyung University, and the chicken’s good too. Maybe one day I’ll get to the bottom of just how it got its name? Another one to add to the pile.

Something closer to home I noticed was this classy bird, her questionable drinking habits, and even dodgier choice of tattos. I think what’s scarier is that it’s in the biggest selling newspaper in Scotland as NEWS. Good work fellas!

I’d like to leave with a nice piece of music, but I found this instead. 

What I can only describe as Korean meets Argentine meets The Village People. Bonkers!

Vamos!

 

Author: From a Late Night Train

Teacher. Musician. Ponderer. Had lived in Seoul, South Korea since 2000. Moved back to Glasgow, Scotland in May 2017.

Leave a Reply

