I’ll smash you in the face-book…

I haven’t read Time magazine for a very long time. In my last job we had a teachers room that always smelled of sour milk, kimchi, and spicy chickpea curry. It got worse when you opened the fridge door. A bit like that scene in Se7en where Brad wonders whats in the box?

All the teachers had a mailbox, and a seperate, sort of front-opening box where you could put your paperwork, supplements, and all the crap you collected over the months and years. In one of the extra boxes there was a huge collection of Time magazines. I guess the university subscribed to it? From time to time I’d peruse through them, pick something of interest from the tatty bunch, then bring it back the next week. I guess it was curiosity (and getting another perspective on world events) that made me pick them up, but I never really ‘got it’. Isn’t this kind of thing what newspapers are for?

Back then, the internet was not as super-duper fast and groovy as it is these days. There wasn’t as much content (at least the kind I was legitimately looking for) back then as the behemoth-esque creations Facebook, Google and Youtube were probably in their infancy. Nothing could be further from the truth today though. Time magazine have just named Mark Zuckerberg person of 2010, and if you don’t know who he is, let me ‘poke’ you in the right direction. Got it yet? Yes? No?

He’s the guy behind Facebook. In his own words, a socially inept loner and not a great people person. How cool is that? Creating something that you hate. A bit like Oppenheimer. He never won Time’s award. Did he?

Hey, I’m sure being a billionaire will help get over that part now, eh? Probably not? In fact, who cares. He’s created something that now has over 500 million users worldwide and employs over 1700 people. I guess he’s doing something right? Facebook is something that all of us will either use directly (or not as the case may be), or will at least be aware of. I don’t think it’s that bad and maybe use it for 10-15 minutes every day. It doesn’t influence my decisions on what to buy, who to talk to, or who to like. It’s just a social network tool that I use to look at complete strangers holiday snaps.

I’m sure there are more worthy winners of the award. The Chilean miners spring to mind. At least there was some humanity to that story, something we could relate to. Not just some faceless, Harvard graduate who ‘wants to  make the world more open connected’. If that’s the case, please stop sending me requests for Farmville, or Mafia Wars, or any other nonsense that you deem ‘entertaining’.

Coincidentally, this video has been doing the rounds the past few days and I thought I’d share it with you.

It was written by someone I know over here in Korea. He’s from Ballachulish and is a talented fella. I don’t think those two comments are coincidental. He’s giving you something to think about. Whether you want or need to get off Facebook (or anything else) is entirely up to you. This however made me cringe. Why would I feel the need to go to a Facebook (Korea) gathering? And I’m definately not going to a venue that has ‘Boutique’ in the title. And the music doesn’t look inspiring either. Enjoy!

Speaking of uninspiring, unimaginative retardation. How stupid do you have to be when it comes to thinking of a password? It seems that some of us have no creative imagination whatsoever. I’m thinking of adding it to the syllabus for next semester. It can only help. My password is Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious just in case you were wondering?

Person of the year, this is for you…

Author: From a Late Night Train

Teacher. Musician. Ponderer. Had lived in Seoul, South Korea since 2000. Moved back to Glasgow, Scotland in May 2017.

One thought on “I’ll smash you in the face-book…”

Leave a Reply

