Eleven And Counting…

Eleven years ago today I had 3 main tasks to do.

First, be on time.

I remember leaving the hotel we were staying at and travelling into the city on the subway. Kilts, Hanboks, sporrans, the lot. We did get  few looks of interest from the other passengers on the train. Maybe there was a circus in town?

Next, to say “Yes”.

Not as easy it may sound.

The minister who was in charge of all things “yes” related was a bit of a chatter box. It felt like an eternity standing there, trying not to sweat in the 30+ degree heat while some strange man, jibbering in a strange language, not pausing for breath, was busy telling me all the things that I should be doing for the rest of my life. To be honest, even if we were speaking the same language chances are I probably wouldn’t be paying that much attention to what’s being said either. “Any chance we can cut to the chase, Boss?” There’s a ton of people here who want feeding.

Eventually, we get to the bit where we say “Yes”. I never was good at listening.

Third, make sure everyone enjoys the day.

Well, that was probably the easiest part of the day. There were a lot of people at the ceremony, then about another 50 or so at the reception. Looking back through the photographs it was good to see you all again. Some of you are still in Korea. Others have moved back home and taken that next step in your own Big Journey.

What was truly memorable about that day was being able to spend it with such a great bunch of people. I remember there being lots of laughs and jokes. In fact, so much fun that we kept it going the following day. Good times, as they say.

Eleven years ago today Eun Jin and I were married in Seoul, South Korea. Those are some words that I never thought I’d be putting in writing when I was growing up in Cumbernauld. Worlds, if not light years apart.

I’m truly blessed to have met my partner and to still be together today. Eun Jin’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me. I love her to bits. Happy Anniversary.

Enjoy the photos

Author: From a Late Night Train

Teacher. Musician. Ponderer. Had lived in Seoul, South Korea since 2000. Moved back to Glasgow, Scotland in May 2017.

2 thoughts on “Eleven And Counting…”

Leave a Reply

