A Tune a Day…E

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros – “If I Were Free”

If I Were Free (Live at the Lewes Stopover 2013)

IfIwerefree

Sometimes, straight off the bat, the first few words of a song just reach out and grab you. Forget about the usual suspects – hook, riff, or melody. There are times when the words just jump off the page.

If I were free
I would run into battles with flowers and hugs
And bow at the boots of our well-oiled thugs
Yes, if I were free

If it were me
I would yell out “I love you!” to all I passed
I would disrobe and disco and rip off my mask

Alex Ebert (or Edward Sharpe if you like…) started out in a band I’d never heard of called Ima Robot. Let’s just say I prefer this new, more “Gentleman of The Road” persona that he’s found with the Magnetic Zeros.

If you’re a fan of Mumford and Sons and Old Crow Medicine Show, or just like a bunch of hippies on a train playing bluegrass tunes, you’ll enjoy “Big Easy Express”. The documentary features all three bands on tour – with the added bonus of them on their own, unique, musical journey.

Big Easy Express

Author: From a Late Night Train

Teacher. Musician. Ponderer. Had lived in Seoul, South Korea since 2000. Moved back to Glasgow, Scotland in May 2017.

Leave a Reply

