A Tune a Day…G

A Tune a Day…G

Grant-Lee Phillips – “The Narrows”
I first came across Grant-Lee Phillips in the early-90’s with his band “Grant Lee Buffalo”. In fact, I can remember being in the public library and browsing through the cds there, picking it up, taking it home and being particularly pleased with my pre-Hipster Hipster’s choice.
220px-MightyJoeMoonalbumcover.png
They also had that “just what genre are they?” vibe to their records. I’ve seen them listed as Americana, Alt-Rock, Alt-Country…I’m still not sure if I’m 100% on putting music into category boxes, just for the sake of making it easier for the online consumer to work out. I still like the idea of working it out for myself…
Late 2015, and on my never-ending quest for quality music for the show, I’d read that Grant-Lee Phillips was releasing a new album – “The Narrows”. Handily enough, all the tracks from the album were later released on GLP’s Youtube page. Free. Gratis. I still feel a little disappointed when I see how many (or in this case how few) “views” it has. Sadly, it seems to be how we measure things these days?
I liked “The Narrows” a lot. It definitely had more of a Nashville feel to it (he’s moved there from LA) and would indeed sit comfortably in the Americana and Alt-Country section of any good record shop. His own story is pretty unique and he often adds that bit of spirituality to his music.
I’ve added a couple of my favourites from the record. The first of which appeared in another movie that I’ve not seen – “Logan”. I hope Grant-Lee Phillips does well from it and brings us some more new music in the not too distant.
Author: From a Late Night Train

Teacher. Musician. Ponderer. Had lived in Seoul, South Korea since 2000. Moved back to Glasgow, Scotland in May 2017.

Leave a Reply

